2023: Atiku, Obi, Tinubu in three-horse race

2023: Atiku, Obi, Tinubu in three-horse race

2023: Atiku, Obi, Tinubu in three-horse race

THE February 25, 2023 official political decision is precisely 217 days away however the nation is super charged as though the activity is not many days to go.

With continuous gigantic scramble for super durable electors cards, PVCs, particularly by the young people; extraordinary discussions by official competitors the nation over; and adjusting and realignment of political powers among others, the political decision is promising to be the quickest throughout the entire existence of official surveys in Nigeria. As of now, a three-horse race gives off an impression of being in the offing among a horde of 15 official leading figures.

From 1979 to 2019 a large portion of the surveys had been two-horse races with 1979 being the main time something near a three-horse race was noticed. In 1979, Alhaji Shehu Shagari of the National Party of Nigeria, NPN; Chief Obafemi Awolowo of the Unity Party of Nigeria, UPN; and Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe of the Nigeria People’s Party, NPP, held the nation enchanted and zapped the country with their hearty and critical missions.

Toward the finish of an extremely sharp balloting, Shagari won with Awolowo following intently. Shagari surveyed 5, 688,857 votes (33.77 percent) while Awolowo had 4,916,651 votes (29.18 percent). Azikiwe came third with 2,822,523 votes (16.75 percent). The other two official up-and-comers in that political race Malam Aminu Kano of the Peoples Redemption Party (1,723,113 votes) and Alhahi Waziri Ibrahim of the Great Nigeria People’s Party, GNPP (1,686,489 votes) came fourth and fifth separately.

In 1983, the challenge was obviously a two-horse race among Shagari and Awolowo despite the fact that Azikiwe set up a decent show. Shagari, who was looking for a re-appointment gathered 12,081,471 votes (47.51per penny); Awolowo had 7,907, 209 votes (31.09 percent); and Azikiwe surveyed 3,557,113 votes (13.99 percent). Different competitors Kano of PRP, Ibrahim of GNPP, and Dr Tunji Braithwaite of the Nigeria Advance Party, NAP, scored short of what 1,000,000 votes each.

The 1993, 1999, 2003, 2015 and 2019 decisions were two-horse races and that of 2007 could be mistaken for one-horse race. In 1993, General Ibrahim Babangida’s proclaimed two-party framework implied that main Chief MKO Abiola of the Social Democratic Party, SDP; and Alhaji Bashir Othman Tofa of the National Republican Convention, NRC, could run. Abiola, who surveyed 8,341,309 votes (58.36 percent) contrasted with Tofa’s 5,952,087 votes (41.64 percent) had the advantage.

At the re-visitation of common rule in 1999, three gatherings were cleared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to challenge the official, National Assembly, Governorship and state gathering surveys. Be that as it may, the understanding arrived at by the Alliance for Democracy, AD and All People’s Party, APP, to handle Chief Olu Falae as a joint official competitor against Chief Olusegun Obasanjo of the Peoples Democratic Party,

PDP, made the challenge a two-party undertaking

Obasanjo pursued away with triumph scoring 18,738,154 votes (62.78 percent) as Falae got 11,110,287 votes (37.22 percent).

While looking for a re-appointment in 2003, Obasanjo had 19 challengers yet just General Muhammadu Buhari of the All Nigerian People’s Party, ANPP, set up serious areas of strength for an insufficient test. Obasanjo got 24,456,140 or 61.94 percent of the votes. Buhari had 12,710,022 or 32.19 percent. Late Chief Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, came a far off third with 1,297,445 votes (3.29 percent).

In 2007, Dr Umaru Musa Yar’ Adua of the PDP won the exceptionally disputable political race challenged by 25 up-and-comers. He scored

24,638,063 votes (69.60 percent). Buhari of the ANPP, who came next had 6,605,299 votes (18.66 percent) while Atiku Abubakar of the Action Congress, AC, earned 2,637,848 (7.48 percent) to put third.

In 2011, following the passing of Yar’ Adua, the PDP ticket went to Dr Goodluck Jonathan, who as VP succeeded the late president. Jonathan got 22,495,187 or 58.87 percent of the votes cast in that political decision to overcome 19 different candidates including Muhammadu Buhari of the Congress for Progressive Change, CPC, who surveyed 12,214,853 votes (31.97 percent). Malam Nuhu Ribadu of the Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, came a far off third with 2,79,151 votes (5.44 percent).

The 2015 political decision was a straight fight between Buhari of the APC (15,424,921 or 53.96 percent of votes) and afterward occupant President Jonathan of the PDP, who surveyed 12,853,162 votes (44.96 percent). The 12 different up-and-comers each scored under 54,000 votes.

The 2019 political race was much the same as that of 2015. Buhari had the high ground in his re-appointment mission against Atiku Abubakar of the PDP and 72 different competitors. Buhari gathered 15,191,847 votes (55.60 percent) while Atiku had 11,262,978 votes (41.22 percent). Mr. Felix Nicolas of the Peoples Coalition Party,

PCP, came a far off third with 110,196 votes (0.40 percent).

Race for 2023

Like the 1979 political decision, a three-horse race is approaching in 2023 among Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the PDP; Mr. Peter Obi of the Labor Party, LP; and Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu of the decision APC in a challenge including 15 up-and-comers.

The other 12 competitors incorporate Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria People’s Party, NNPP; Mr. Ademola Adebayo of the SDP; Mr. Dumebi Kachikwu of you African Democratic Congress, ADC; Christopher. Imumolen of Accord; and Major Hamza Al-Mustapha, retd, of Action Alliance, AA.

The rest are Chief Kola Abiola of the PRP; Malik Ado Ibrahim of the Youth Progressive Party, YPP; Okwudili Nwa-Anyadike of the National Rescue Movement, NRM; Mr. Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress, AAC; Peter Umeadi of APGA; Sunday Adenuga of Boot Party, BP; and Yusuf Mamma Dantalle of the Allied People’s Movement, APM. Be that as it may, since shaking for the official diadem began, Atiku, Obi and Tinubu have been overwhelming the political space as far as help base.

The triplet have picked three dependable characters as running mates. While Atiku and Tinubu are counts on age and experience, as their tickets reflect, Obi is betting on experience and young energy.

While Atiku, in his mid-70s picked Delta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, who is in his 60s, Tinubu, 70, made a comparable stride in making due with previous Borno State Governor, Senator Kashim Shettima likewise in his 60s.

Then again, Obi, 61, picked a more youthful Senator Yusuf Datti Baba-Ahmed, 53.

Right now, Atiku and PDP’s partners are secured in endeavors to determine the qualms following his choice not to pick Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State as his running mate. Wike came next in the PDP primaries and was the decision of the party’s choice council for the bad habit administration space.

In the APC, Tinubu and the party’s progressive system are striving to diffuse the pressure created by the Muslim ticket in the nation.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.